

Channabasaveshwara Institute of Technology

(Affiliated to VTU, Belgaum & Approved by AICTE, New Delhi) (NAAC Accredited & ISO 9001:2015 Certified Institution) NH 206 (B.H. Road), Gubbi, Tumkur – 572 216. Karnataka.





INTERNAL QUALITY ASSURANCE CELL Meeting Minutes

Meeting No.: 1

Meeting Date: 18/11/2017

Meeting Location: **Board Room – CIT Campus**

Meeting Start: **2:15 pm**Meeting End: **4.45 pm**

AGENDA

1. Re-composition of IQAC

2. Review of NAAC peer team observations

3. Faculty Development Programmes

4. Alumni Meet

5. Chief Superintend - VTU Dec 2017 / Jan 2018 examination

6. Privileged Leave (PL) for Non-Teaching Staff

7. Cultural Fest - FLAIR 2018

8. Performance Appraisal for Research Scholars

9. Installing Sanitary Napkin Vending Machine

10. Applying for financial assistance under AICTE-AQIS

ATTENDANCE

| Name | Designation |
|---------------------------|---|
| Dr. Suresh D S | Director & Principal Chairperson |
| Dr. Shantala C P | Vice Principal, Professor & Head, Dept of CSE |
| Prof. Pradeep V | Dean (Academics) IQAC - Coordinator |
| Dr. Keshava Prasanna | Dean (Students) & MR-ISO |
| Prof. Giridhar S Kulkarni | Dean (Admin) & Head, Dept. of Mech. Engg. |
| Prof. V C Kumar | Dean (Exams) & Head, Dept. of EEE |
| Prof. G S Suresh | Dean (Professional Societies) |
| Dr. Sudhi Kumar G S | Professor & Head, Dept. of Civil Engg. |
| Dr. Rajagopala R | Professor & Head, Dept. of ECE |
| Dr. Shivaprakash M C | Professor & Head, Dept. of Physics |
| Prof. Anil kumar G | Coordinator, Dept of CSE |
| Prof. Sekar R | Coordinator, Dept of ECE |
| Prof. Chetan Balaji | Coordinator – Youth Empowerment Cell |

| Dr. Siddesh Kumar N G | Associate Professor, Dept. of Mech. Engg. |
|--------------------------|--|
| Prof. Ramya H N | Assistant Professor, Dept. of Civil Engg. |
| Prof. Thara D K | Assistant Professor, Dept. of ISE |
| Prof. Chikkannaswamy V M | Assistant Professor, Dept. of Mech. Engg |
| Mr. Manjunath H N | Senior Associate Cognizant Technology Solutions, Bangalore Alumni Nominee - Batch 2001-05 B.E. CSE |
| Mrs. Inchara R | Software Engineer Intel, Bangalore Alumni Nominee - Batch 2009-13 B.E. CSE |
| Mr. Umesh Kalappa | Principal Compiler Engineer Nvidia, Bangalore Alumni Nominee - Batch 2001-05 B.E. ISE |
| Mr. Bharath N S | Site Engineer Gomini Constructions, Bangalore Alumni Nominee - Batch 2010-14 B.E. Civil Engg. |
| Mr. Rathan Rao | Chief Technical Officer Tayana Software Solutions (P) Ltd, Bangalore Industrialist Nominee |
| Mr. Sanjeev Kubakaddi | Director itie Knowledge Solutions, Bangalore Industrialist Nominee |
| Mr. Sundar K S | Associate Vice President and Head, IMS Academy Infosys Limited, Mysuru Industrialist Nominee |

DISCUSSIONS / DECISIONS

Agenda item 1: Re-composition of IQAC

Dr. Suresh D S, Director and Principal, the Chairman of IQAC introduced and welcomed the new members of IQAC.

Agenda item 2: Review of NAAC peer team observations

Discussion had on the Report submitted by the Peer Team Members during the NAAC Peer Team Visit on October 23-25, 2017. As per the report, following areas were identified as the scope for improvement:

- Usage of NPTEL lectures
- Actions on the feedback taken
- Implementing Outcome based Education
- Student performance in University exams
- Promoting research and consultancy activities
- Student mentoring and counselling
- Student Placement
- Student Progression
- Grievance Redressal Mechanism
- Innovative teaching practices

Agenda item 3: Faculty Development Programmes

Discussed and proposed to conduct Faculty Development Programmes with special focus on Applied Mathematics, Funding opportunities, Current Research Problems and Open source Technologies in the month of January 2018.

Agenda item 4: Alumni Meet

Proposed to organize the Alumni Meet 2017 on December 17, 2017. Mr. Giridhar S Kulkarni is identified as the chairman of the organizing committee.

Agenda item 5: Chief Superintend - VTU Dec 2017 / Jan 2018 examination

Dr. Shivaprakash is nominated as Chief Superintend for the VTU Dec 2017 / Jan 2018 examination scheduled from 29/11/2017 to 07/02/2018.

Agenda item 6: Privileged Leave (PL) for Non-Teaching Staff

Proposed to introduce Privileged Leave (PL) for all the Non-Teaching Staff members who have completed 8 years of continuous service in CIT from the calendar year 2018. Four (4) PLs will be *credited* in the beginning of calendar year to every eligible staff's account. A staff can avail PL only on medical grounds in a single spell.

Agenda item 7: Cultural Fest - FLAIR 2018

Proposed to organize the Cultural Fest - FLAIR 2018 on March 1 & 2, 2018. Prof. V C Kumar and Mr. Praveen Kumar T M are nominated as organizing secretaries. The brochures, posters and other supporting documents should be finalized before 31st January 2018.

Agenda item 8: Performance Appraisal for Research Scholars

Proposed to conduct Performance Appraisal for the faculty members who are registered for Ph.D. in CIT and other Research Centres. Dr. Ashwath Kumar, Professor, Sapthagiri College of Engineering, Dr. Sridhar Rao and Dr. Umesh Laddi are identified as Panel Members.

Agenda item 9: Installing Sanitary Napkin Vending Machine

Proposed to install Sanitary Napkin Vending Machine and Destroyer Machine in the Ladies Waiting Room, Ground Floor, CRC Block.

Agenda item 10: Applying for financial assistance under AICTE-AQIS

Discussed to motivate the faculty members to apply for financial assistance under various schemes of AICTE-Ouality Improvement Scheme (AQIS).

Minutes Prepared by

Minutes Approved by

IQAC Coordinator

Chairperson